The History Boys

Group 2 white

THE HISTORY BOYS

By Alan Bennett

Directed by Haley Murphy
Produced by Carol Strachan
Stage Managed by Joan S. Lada

Performance Dates: 
Friday, January 15, 8pm

Saturday, January 16, 8pm
Thursday, January 21, 8pm
Friday, January 22, 8pm
Saturday, January 23, 8pm
Thursday, January 28, 8pm
Friday, January 29, 8pm
Saturday, January 30, 8pm
Friday, February 5, 8pm (snow makeup day ADDED)
Saturday, February 6, 8pm (snow makeup day ADDED)

Performances of The History Boys will be held at:
Gunston Theater One
2700 South Lang Street
Arlington, VA 22206

Story Synopsis:

An unruly bunch of bright, funny sixth-form (senior) boys in a British boarding school are, as such boys will be, in pursuit of sex, sport, and a place at a good university – generally in that order. In all their efforts, they are helped and hindered, enlightened and bemused, by a maverick English teacher who seeks to broaden their horizons in sometimes undefined ways, and by a young history teacher who questions the methods, as well as the aim, of their schooling. In The History Boys, Alan Bennett raises – with gentle wit and pitch-perfect command of character – not only universal questions about the nature of history and how it is taught but also questions about the purpose of education today. Following a sold out run in London, The History Boys premiered on Broadway in April 2006 taking the Tony Award as Best Play of the Season.

Please send all questions/inquiries to historyboys@dominionstage.org